Harry Christian Giese – Research into Action Award:

Harry Giese AM MBE (1913–2000) was a passionate Territorian who played a key role in the establishment of the Menzies School of Health Research (Menzies) in the early 1980s.

In recognition of his outstanding contribution to the landscape of health and education in Northern Australia, the Giese family, with Menzies, have developed the Harry Christian Giese – Research into Action Award.

In 2017, diabetes researcher Dr Renae Kirkham was named the award recipient for her work with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander women with diabetes in pregnancy. She will use her award to document and share their stories with other women to understand how important it is to manage their diabetes. Read more about Renae's story here

Australia’s first Indigenous kidney specialist and clinical nephrologist, Menzies’ Dr Jaqui Hughes was named as the 2016 recipient of the Harry Christian Giese – Research into Action Award to champion the translation of her research findings into medical interventions. Read more about Jaqui's story here.

Deputy Division Leader of Wellbeing and Preventable Chronic Diseases division, Professor Gail Garvey was named as the 2015 recipient of the award to put her research in psycho-oncology, understanding and treating the social, psychological, emotional and spiritual aspects of cancer, from prevention to bereavement, into action. Read more about Gail’s story here.

2014 winner - Dr Matthew Grigg
2013 winner - Dr Gabrielle McCallum

Menzies medallion:

The Menzies medallion is awarded by the Menzies Board to groups or individuals who have made a considerable contribution to health, of relevance to the Northern Territory.

In 2018, the winner was :

Professor Paul Torzillo, for being a national leader in Aboriginal health care, research and policy

Past medallion recipients:

  • Professor Peter Morris
  • Dr Christine Connors
  • Dr Vicki Krause
  • June Oscar AO
  • Dr John Boffa
  • Associate Professor Susan Sayers
  • Yalu' Marngithinyaraw Indigenous Corporation
  • Ms Stephanie Bell
  • Dr Valerie Asche
  • Ms Margaret Brewster
  • Professor Bart Currie
  • Father Frank LFlynn MSC AC*
  • Mr Harry Giese AM MBE*
  • Professor Michael Good
  • Professor Richard Gye AO
  • Dr John Hargrave AO MBE
  • Mrs Susan Hutton
  • Professor David Kemp FAA*
  • Professor John Mathews AM
  • Dr Brian Reid
  • Dr KS Sriprakash
    * Deceased
The Companion of Menzies:

The Companion of Menzies - created in 2018 to recognise exceptional contributions and support to the continued development and success of Menzies School of Health Research.

The Inaugural Recipients are:  

Dr Val Asche 
Dr Asche was the head of the microbiology research unit at Menzies School of Health Research from 1986 to 1994 under its founding director Professor John Mathews. She continues her support for Menzies and we have the annual Val Asche Prize for Academic Excellence. 

The Hon Austin Asche AC QC
Austin as Former Northern Territory Administrator, Chief Justice and Inaugural Chair of the Northern Territory University whose support over the years has been wonderful for all of us at Menzies.

Richard Ryan AO 
Richard has also a long association with Menzies Chair for numerous years before becoming the Inaugural Vice Chancellor of the Charles Darwin University. Richard returned to us from CDU and makes sure he keeps the wheels running as our treasurer and co-chairs our finance committee.

Val Asche Prize:

Val Asche has been a close friend of Menzies for a long time. We are thrilled that she continues her support through the Val Asche Prize for Academic Excellence.

Established in 2001, the award is presented each year to a student whose academic performance in a completed course has been outstanding. The student is awarded with $250 towards study materials and books.

Ryan Family Prize:

The Ryan Family Prize is an internal annual award that recognises outstanding contributions to Menzies – individuals or groups who go above and beyond and help make Menzies a great place to work and/or to help Menzies achieve excellence.

The successful nominee is awarded with a $3000 prize and presented with a perpetual trophy.

This award was made possible thanks to the generosity of the Ryan family. We would like to take this opportunity to once again thank the Ryan family for their generosity and their contribution to Menzies over the years and would particularly like to thank Mr Richard Ryan for his continued support and guidance.