Charles Darwin University (CDU):

Menzies was established in 1985 as a body corporate of the Northern Territory Government under the Menzies School of Health Research Act 1985 (the MSHR Act). The MSHR Act and subsequent amendments establishes Menzies as a major partner of Charles Darwin University (CDU) and governed by its own Board.

Northern Territory Government:

As the sole medical research institute headquarted in the Northern Territory, Menzies has a privileged relationship with the Northern Territory Government (NTG).

The NTG has provided an untied grant to Menzies every year since its inception. Over the last five years we have broadened our collaborations beyond the Department of Health to include several other departments. We will continue as a trusted and valued, but independent, collaborator with the NTG.

National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC):

Menzies is largely funded through competitive research grants provided by the Australian Government’s National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC).

Indigenous communities:

Without the continued support of our community partners there would be no research conducted by Menzies. They are our participants, researchers, advisors, board members and collaborators, but most of all our teachers and mentors.