The Human Research Ethics Committee (HREC) of the Northern Territory (NT) Department of Health and Menzies School of Health Research is registered and operates in accordance with the National Health and Medical Research Council's (NHMRC) National Statement on Ethical Conduct in Human Research (2007). (Reg no. EC00153)

The Aboriginal Ethics Sub Committee provides advice to the HREC on all applications involving Indigenous peoples in the NT (except Tiwi Island studies).

The HREC supports the research activities of the NT Department of Health and Menzies School of Health Research and also considers ethics applications submitted by non-government service providers and other research institutions conducting research across the Top End of the NT.

Although mutual acceptance and reciprocal approval is not automatic, the HREC will review applications for projects that have prior HREC approval from other regions of Australia, and who are seeking local approval, on a case-by-case basis.

More information may be found on the specific HREC pages.

Meeting dates of the HREC.

Committee membership:

  • Dr Mary Morris – Chair
  • Dr Sandawana William Majoni – Deputy Chair
  • Dr Adam Liedloff
  • Dr Colin Watson
  • Dr David Carroll
  • Dr Kane Vellar
  • Dr Lewis Campbell
  • Dr Sajan Thomas
  • Dr Sebastiaan Blank
  • Dr Suresh Mahendran
  • Mr Gavin Morris
  • Ms Helmy Bakermans
  • Ms Katrina Lawrence
  • Ms Michelle Gazer
  • Mr Bradly Torgan
  • Mr Chris Perry
  • Mr Saji Sebastian
  • Ms Amarjit Anand
  • Ms Bianca Heron
  • Ms Caroline Heske
  • Ms Christel van den Boogaard
  • Ms Jodie Waters
  • Ms Judy Clisby
  • Ms Lyn Byers
  • Ms Michelle Edmonds
  • Ms Suzi Kapetas
  • Ms Penelope (Penny) Renc
  • Mr Shayne Pomeroy
  • Ms Tanya Ling
  • Ms Tina Noutsos