The Darwin Region Institutional Biosafety Committee is administered by the Menzies School of Health Research.

The committee represents three organisations conducting genetic research in the region - Charles Darwin University (plants), the Northern Territory Government (animals) and Menzies School of Health Research (human health).

The committee is constituted and administered in accordance with the Commonwealth Gene Technology Act (2000) and reports to the Office of the Gene Technology Regulator (OGTR), as well as to the heads of the supported organisations.

There are four scheduled meetings per year when the committee meets to consider project applications and inspect laboratory facilities.

Click here to access the OGTR website to download application forms.

Committee membership:
  • Professor Phil Giffard - Chair
  • Dr Lorna Melville
  • Dr Richard Weir
  • Ms Yolande Yep
  • Mrs Truc Nguyen
  • Mrs Jan Riley - community member
  • Ms Michelle Matts - administrator
  • Ms Julianne Giffard - administrator
Contact us:

Ethics administration, Menzies School of Health Research, email or phone (08) 8946 8687 or (08) 8946 8692.