Professor Ric Price

Professor of global health; senior principal research fellow; staff specialist in infectious diseases and general medicine, Division of Medicine, Royal Darwin Hospital


Bachelor of Arts, University of Cambridge, 1983; Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery, University of Cambridge, 1989; Master of Arts, University of Cambridge, 1990; Medical Doctorate, University of London, 2000; Fellow of The Royal Australian College of Physicians, 2004; Fellow of The Royal College of Physicians, UK, 2005; Fellow of The Royal College of Pathologists, UK, 2008; Fellow of the Academy of Medical Science, UK, 2019; ASTMH Distinguished International Fellow, USA, 2020

Approved level of HDR supervision at Charles Darwin University:

Principal Supervisor for PhD


Darwin - Royal Darwin Hospital campus


Professor Ric Price is an infectious disease and general physician on the staff at the Royal Darwin Hospital. He holds a dual academic affiliation as professor of global health at the Menzies School of Health Research and professor of tropical medicine at the Centre of Tropical Medicine, University of Oxford, UK.

He is an expert in malaria therapeutics, antimalarial drug resistance and P. vivax epidemiology with a translational research agenda that spans clinical drug trials, epidemiology, parasitology, molecular biology, social science and health economics.

The ultimate aim of Ric’s research is to change public health policy and impact upon global health outcomes. To achieve this he is coordinating a program involving collaborators from 32 countries, working with local partners to provide the evidence needed to optimise policy and practice, building in-country research capacity and strengthening national malaria surveillance systems to support the global elimination of malaria.

Professor Price chairs the clinical module of the World Wide Antimalarial Resistance Network (WWARN) and between 2010-2020, co-chaired the Vivax Working Group of the Asia-Pacific Malaria Elimination Network (APMEN).

In 2021, Ric was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences.